Faculty, students leased to UAM


The University of Arkansas at Monticello College of Forestry, Agriculture and Natural Resources (CFANR) recently celebrated the outstanding contributions and achievements of its students, staff, and faculty.

The honors were presented at the CFANR Outdoor Picnic at the Clippert Forest Resources Annex.

“Student awards were based on faculty votes on student performance in terms of academic performance as well as camaraderie with their student peers,” Dean Michael Blazier said. “The faculty awards were based on teaching, research and service to CFANR. The junior faculty award was given to a faculty member at the rank of assistant professor. The senior faculty award was awarded to a professor at the rank of associate professor or professor.”

“We are blessed by the consistent quality and dedication of our students, faculty, and staff,” Blazier said. “It’s what defines our college, and it’s why we recognize individuals for their commitment to excellence.”

This year, the recipients of the CFANR awards are:


Minimum criteria to be eligible for this award include completion of 90 credit hours or more and a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher. The award emphasizes academic excellence as well as leadership, service, and other personal characteristics and qualities.

The winners are:

• Mallory Kilcrease – Hamburg – Agriculture-Animal Science;

• Cole Whiteaker – Melbourne – Surveying;

• Zach Cater – Monticello – Natural Resource Management with geospatial science option;

• Brett Cunningham – Palmer, Texas – General Undergraduate – Natural Resource Management with Forestry Option.


The recipient of the Outstanding Graduate Certificate and Master of Science Student Awards is selected through a survey of CFANR faculty. Faculty members use a variety of criteria, including academic excellence, work ethic, and leadership.

The winners are:

• Katherine Allen – New Roads, La. — Graduate Certificate-Waterfowl, Habitat and Recreation. Management;

• Tyler Corbin-Conway — Master of Science-Forest Resources.


The Faculty Excellence Award recognizes exemplary contributions in research, teaching, and service to CFANR faculty. The Senior Faculty Excellence Award is given to faculty at the associate and professor ranks. This year’s winner is Ben Babst, associate professor of forest ecology and tree ecophysiology.

The Junior Faculty Excellence Award is given to professors at the rank of assistant professor, and this year’s recipient is Rocky Lindsey, assistant professor of animal science.


The Support Staff Excellence Award recognizes an individual for notable and outstanding contributions to the success of the College, such as innovative problem solving and personal growth in their appointment. The winner is Lon Tegels, Director of Communications.

Blazier said he and the college extend their congratulations to each of its honorees. Each winner will receive an engraved award as recognition.

The University of Arkansas at Monticello and the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture System offer all of their programs to all eligible individuals without discrimination.


About Author

Comments are closed.